Today was sort of a big deal for me. I had two options. Suit up and head out for a run, which I wanted to do about as much as I wanted to drive a rusty spike through my ear...or consider my resolution to exercise officially broken by the week of zero physical activity. You can probably guess which I chose, since I likely would not come here to write about my failed resolution.
Anyway, suffice to say after a week of inactivity my run was not at all fun. I got dizzy again, which is really very pitiful when you consider I'm not exactly running a triathlon here. But by god, the point is, I went and did it. I don't really care if I never run three miles, let alone ten, as long as I don't become a sea cow or a dependapotamus. (Which for those of you don't know, is slang for a military dependent wife who weighs 400 pounds and does nothing. I laughed myself sick when I first heard the term.)
The good news is we haven't failed at eating healthy nearly as much as I have failed at exercising. They key for both of us, we discovered, is that we have to find healthy ways to be lazy. Having a tray of pre-cut veggies for snacking helps, for example, and V8 juice does too. We found greek yogurt in single-serving cups with fruit on the bottom, and that's pretty nice too...it doesn't even taste foul, and I double-checked to make sure it's not just full of corn syrup.
Day one all over again, more or less a success. Lets see how tomorrow goes.
No comments:
Post a Comment