Today was harder, and I'm not sure why. It was easy to actually go out and get started, just tough to keep running. It was really tempting to stop and walk...or even better, to stop and lie down on the concrete until some pitying passerby tucked me in for a nap. I slogged through it, but I didn't want to.
I'm also not sure how long it took me today, as I forgot to glance at the clock on my way out. Oops. I actually feel like I was moving a little quicker, but if so, that's more because I can't pace myself well than because the running is getting easier. Ah well.
I went with a friend to Ben and Jerry's yesterday and got a smoothie instead of ice cream...I'm sure there's still a good deal of sugar in the mango sorbet they use to make it, but at least the rest was real juice and fruit. It made me miss Hawaii, and the smoothie bar they had at the gym. It was really neat, because you could add protein powders and such...and even though they used the same pre-made smoothie mix that Cal U used, it somehow tasted better. Then again, probably everything tastes better under palm trees and next to a pool.
Today we're taking our Christmas tree out to Onslow Beach. Apparently they collect them to make sand traps, in order to keep the dunes from eroding. I'm really glad, because when I lived with my parents we always took our tree down to the edge of the forest, where it could decay naturally...I've hated the idea of just tossing our tree in the dumpster. The poor thing was cut down just so it could decorate my home, a job it has performed nobly and admirably...it seems a bit rude just to throw it in a bin and wait for the trash man to collect it. I'm happy it can be recycled and reused instead.
No comments:
Post a Comment